Skip to main content

Jefferson County, Indiana collection

 Collection — Folder: S2811
Identifier: S2811

Scope and Contents

This collection includes original documents, photostats, and photocopies of correspondence, land grants, deeds, and wills from Jefferson County, Indiana ranging from 1810 to 1966 regarding the county's land as well as its community history.


  • 1810-1966

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Historical Note

Jefferson County, Indiana was named for President Thomas Jefferson. It was authorized by an act of the Legislature on November 23, 1810, which went into effect on February 1, 1811. It is divided into ten townships.

"Jefferson County". Retrieved 2013/10/16.


0.03 Cubic Feet (2 folders)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged chronologically.

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.


No further additions are expected.

Related Materials

Materials relating to this collection may be found in the following collections in Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN:

V230: Jefferson County, Indiana account book

Processing Information

Processing Information: Collection processing completed 2013/10/16 by Edythe Huffman. EAD finding aid created 2013/10/16 by Edythe Huffman. EAD finding aid updated 2019/10/12 by Lauren Patton.
Jefferson County, Indiana collection
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.