Skip to main content

Fannie Howes Campbell letters

 Collection — Folder: S0209
Identifier: S0209

Scope and Contents

The July 6 letter with no year, written to “My Dear Husband and Mother,” has an addition in pencil by another writer, after Fannie’s message in ink. The other writer mentions that Fannie is getting better, and the doctor thinks she has an “ulceration of the womb.”

In another undated letter, Fannie wrote: “I wish you would write to Sam – Memphis, Tenn. – 81st Reg. Illinois. Vol. – Gen. [John A.] Logan’s Division.” Another letter with only Feb. 8 but no year says: “Last night the baby went to sleep calling on pretty Grandma to come see Clara baby.” Another undated letter mentions “Frank and Clara, Grandma, and Sam familiarly or for short I call lambs.”

The April 12, 1863 letter, which is eight pages, says: Sam “is not at all well, has not been able to attend to camp duties for two months as he is weakened by camp diarrhea; says the Col. and Mr. Port advise him to resign, but he will not do it if he is able to go to Vicksburg, he expects to start there this week, he will not have it said he resigned just before going into battle.”

Feb. 16, 1864, Sam Campbell wrote to Mother: “I am glad Father Abraham [Lincoln] has called for 20,000 more and hope they will without fail order the draft as they have been talking so much about it that it is now time. The Copperheads were made to feel that it was upon them and how I would rejoice to see a lot of them in the front ranks during a hard battle and the enemy were taking good aim to hit them.”


  • 1852-1897


Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Biographical Note

Fannie M. Howes married Samuel L. Campbell and had two children, Frank, born in 1857, and Clara, who was born later. Fannie was born about 1838. On July 10, 1860, she was listed in the federal census for Louisville Ward 7, Jefferson County, Kentucky, with her husband Samuel, a clerk, who was 30 years old and her son Frank, age 3. Frank is mentioned frequently in the letters. They were living in Louisville with families having the last names of Victor and Baldwin. In Fannie’s later letters, she mentions her child Clara. Fannie wrote often to her sister Lida.

During the Civil War, Samuel was in the 81st Illinois Volunteer Regiment, in General John A. Logan’s Division.


0.01 Cubic Feet (1 folder)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged chronologically.

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation from Mrs. Benjamin Crane on 1937/07/05.


No further additions are expected.

Processing Information

Collection processing and finding aid completed by Nikki Stoddard Schofield during May 2013. EAD finding aid completed by Bethany Fiechter on 2018/05/11.
Fannie Howes Campbell letters
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.