Skip to main content

Dorothy Vesper Cook collection

 Collection
Identifier: G-080

Scope and Contents

This collection includes photographs, and genealogical and local history research from Vesper Cook in Miami County, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio ranging from c1870 to 1977 regarding the Wilkinson, Sebring, Stickel and other related families.

Dates

  • circa 1870 - 1977

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with the Genealogy Division, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to the Genealogy Division.

Biographical / Historical

Dorothy Vesper Wilkinson was born in Peru, Indiana on June 21, 1917 to John E. and Mary B. Stickel Wilkinson. She graduated from Peru high school in 1935. On June 27, 1965 in the Main Street United Methodist church in Peru she married Horace Dean Cook. From 1961 to 1983 she was the curator for the Miami County Historical Museum as well as the Peterbaugh Museum both in Peru Indiana. A photograph taken by Vesper Cook during the 1943 flood was used by the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers on the cover of one of its publications, "Floods in the Vicinity of Peru, Indiana. How to Avoid Damage". Vesper was the author of "Miami County Railroads 1846 - 1925" She was a member of the Indiana Historical Society , Midwest Museums Conference of the American Association of Museums, the North Central Indiana Genealogical Society, Circus Fans of America, Circus Historical Society and the Miami County Steam Locomotive Association. Vesper Cook died July, 18 1996 in Peru Indiana.

Extent

3 Cubic Feet (3 cubic foot boxes)

Arrangement

This collection is arranged by subject

Accruals

No further additions are expected.

Processing Information

Collection processing completed 2019/10/08 by Sarah Pfundstein. EAD finding aid created 2019/10/10 by Sarah Pfundstein.
Title
Dorothy Vesper Cook Collection
Status
Completed
Description rules
dacs

Repository Details

Part of the Genealogy Repository

Contact:
315 West Ohio Street
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.
317-232-3689