Skip to main content

Indiana bicentennial collection

Identifier: L502

Scope and Contents

In 2015-2016, each county coordinator, public library, historical society and various clubs and organizations were asked to submit bicentennial records for inclusion to a bicentennial manuscript collection within the Rare Books and Manuscripts Division. Records submitted included correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, photographs, videos and other documentation highlighting programs, services and events occurring in their county ranging from 2013 to 2016.

In 2016, students across the state were asked to tap into their creativity and be part of Indiana history by contributing to a special "Happy Birthday, Indiana" collection. Students decorated their cards using colored pencils, briefly explaining, "Why do you love Indiana?" and "What does being a Hoosier mean to you?" This collection includes around 10,000 birthday cards.


  • 2013-2016


Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights resides with the creators of the documents or their legal heirs and assigns. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Historical Note

The Indiana 2016 Bicentennial celebration aimed to honor the state's 200 years of history, and to do so in a modern way that engaged all 6.5 million Hoosiers, leaving a lasting legacy for future generations.

In December 2011, former Governor Mitch Daniels appointed a fifteen member commission, chaired by Lt. Governor Becky Skillman and former Congressman Lee Hamilton, to oversee the planning and execution of a statewide celebration for Indiana's 200th birthday. Commission members included: Becky Skillman; Lee Hamilton; First Lady Karen Pence; Sarah Evans Barker; Charlie Brown; Stephen Ferguson; Tony George; Brenda Gerber Vincent; P.E. MacAllister; Jim Madison; Mickey Maurer; Mary McConnell; Jim McCormick; Jim Merritt; Ellen Rosenthal and Randall Shepard.

Bicentennial Commission staff included: Perry Hammock; Rene Stanley; Valeri Beamer; Samuel Alderfer; Adrienne Smith; Jylian Vigar; Clinton Walker; Joan Boyer; Isabelle Ryerson; Becca Kendrick and Hannah Kendrick.


9.4 Cubic Feet (19 manuscript boxes, 1 large oversize box, 1 extra-large oversize folder)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged in the following series:

Series 1: Bicentennial manuscript collection documentation, 2013-2016

Series 2: "Happy Birthday, Indiana" cards, 2015-2016

Series 3: County documents, 2013-2016

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.


The repository continues to add materials to this collection on a regular basis.

Processing Information

Collection processing completed by Bethany Fiechter, Brittany Kropf, Lauren Patton and Laura Eliason on 2017/01/31. EAD finding aid created by Bethany Fiechter, Brittany Kropf, Lauren Patton and Laura Eliason on 2017/02/08.


Indiana bicentennial collection
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.