Skip to main content

Indiana legislators correspondence

 Collection — Folder: S2409
Identifier: S2409

Scope and Contents

This collection contains correspondence sent to members of the Indiana General Assembly during the 1943 legislative session. Most of the letters were written either in support of or opposition to various bills being considered and were sent to legislators representing counties from across the state, including Edward Beaman and Gene Eckerty, Mick Coffing, Joseph Cubby, Arthur Denton, Martin Downey, Albert Ferris, George Henley, Robert Hoover, James Knapp, Bruce Lane, C. Edwin Moseley, Lee Reynolds, Dr. Renos Richards, Earl Teckemeyer, and John Van Ness.


  • 1943

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Historical Note

The Indiana General Assembly is the state legislative branch and is responsible for enacting the laws for which Indiana is governed. It is a bicameral legislature with a House of Representatives and a Senate. The House of Representatives has 100 elected member who serve 2-year terms and the Senate has 50 elected members who serve 4-year terms. The General Assembly only met every two years until the 1970s when an amendment to the Indiana Constitution was passed that allowed the legislators to meet annually.


Indiana General Assembly. "Information: About and Contact the IGA." Accessed August 23, 2022.

Indiana General Assembly. "Information: Frequently Asked Questions." Accessed August 23, 2022.


0.01 Cubic Feet (1 folder)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged alphabetically by legislature's name, then chronologically.

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.


No further additions are expected.

Processing Information

Collection processing completed 2022/08/23 by Laura Eliason. EAD finding aid created 2022/08/23 by Laura Eliason.
Indiana legislators correspondence
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.