Skip to main content

Autographs collection

 Collection — Folder: S1942
Identifier: S1942

Scope and Contents

This collection contains autographs of Indiana authors and government employees. Signatures include James E. Watson, Homer Caprehart, E.A. Richardson, George Ade, Ernst Heberlein, Jane D. Shackelford, Clara Ingram Judson, etc.

Item Listing:

27 Dec. 1930 Simeon D. Fees

29 Dec. 1930 James E. Watson

29 Dec. 1930 Albert H. Vestal

29 Dec. 1930 Will R. Wood

29 Aug. 1933 R. H. Sullivan

31 Aug. 1933 A. R. Robinson

17 Dec. 1934 E.A. Richardson

20 June 1935 Elizabeth Newell

22 Apr. 1936 Curtis G. Shake

24 June 1936 Curtis G. Shake

21 Jan. 1937 Mrs. Carl A. Taylor

24 Feb. 1937 Evelyn Foster Morneweck

7 Nov. 1940 George Ade

23 May 1942 Margaret E. Bruner

11 July 1942 Kenneth R. Shaffer

16 Dec. 1942 Ernst Heberlein

16 Jan. 1943 James E. Perry

13 Oct. 1944 Clara Ingram Judson

17 Oct. 1944 Daniel Francis Clancy

20 Oct. 1944 Helen Boyd Higgins

23 Mar. 1945 Charles A. Halleck

23 Mar. 1945 Forest A. Harness

23 Mar. 1945 Robert A. Grant

24 Mar. 1945 George W. Gillie

26 Mar. 1945 Earl Wilson

27 Mar. 1945 Clement T. Malan

28 Mar. 1945 Noble J. Johnson

5 Apr. 1945 Homer E. Capehart

5 Apr. 1945 Raymond E. Willis

12 Apr. 1945 Ray. J. Madden

15 Nov. 1945 Katharine Wicks

15 Nov. 1945 Clara Ingram Judson

15 Nov. 1945 Laura Long

15 Nov. 1945 William E. Wilson

16 Nov. 1945 Jeannette Nolan

17 Nov. 1945 Clotilde Embree Funk

18 Nov. 1945 Augusta Stevenson

20 Nov. 1945 Jane D. Shackelford

28 May 1947 A.B. Guthrie, Jr.

29 May 1947 Walter Myers

1 June 1947 E. Merrill Root

circa 1980s Steve Alford

n.d. “Maggie Owen”

n.d. Kate Gambold Dyer

n.d. Evelyn Ray Sickels


  • 1930-1980s

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Biographical Note

George Ade (1866-1944) was an Indiana author, playwright and humorist.

Homer Caprehart (1897-1979) was involved in farming and manufacturing and was also an Indiana Senator, serving from 1945 to 1963.

Clara Ingram Judson (1879-1960) was a native of Logansport, Indiana and was an award-winning author of children's books.

Emory A (E. A.) Richardson (1886-1965), "Big Rich", was an Indiana author and Indiana's first unofficial poet laureate.

Jane D. Shackelford (1895-1979) taught in the Terre Haute, Indiana Public Schools for 43 years and was also the author of "The Child's Story of the Negro" and "My Happy Days".

James E. Watson (1864-1948) was a congressman and senator from Indiana. He served as Senate majority leader from 1929-1933.


"Ade, George." Find A Grave Memorial # 11327. Retrieved 2015/08/04.

"Caprehart, Homer." Biographical Directory of the United States Congress. Retrieved 2015/08/04.

"Ingram Judson, Clara." Anderson Herald Bulletin 1960/05/25. Retrieved 2015/08/04.

"Indiana Poet Laureate." The Library of Congress. Retrieved 2015/08/04.

"Richardson, E.A." Wikepedia. Retrieved 2015/08/04.

"Shackelford, Jane D." Vigo County Public Library. Retrieved 2015/08/04.

"Watson, James." Biographical Directory of the United States Congress. Retrieved 2015/08/04.


0.01 Cubic Feet (1 folder)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged chronologically.

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.


No further additions are expected.

Related Archival Material

Materials relating to this collection may be found in the following collections in Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN:

L406: Indiana autographs collection, 1832-1926 S1484: Indiana authors autographs collection, 1881-1940 S1485: Miscellaneous autographs collection, 1813-1937 S1486: Political figures autographs collection, 1887-1934

Processing Information

Collection processing completed 2005/04 by Jennifer Duplaga. EAD finding aid created 2015/08/04 by Laura Eliason.
Autographs collection
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.