Skip to main content

Indiana Central University collection

 Collection — Folder: S1563
Identifier: S1563

Scope and Contents

This collection includes letters, publications, pledge cards, and forms from Indiana Central University in Indianapolis, Indiana ranging from 1912 to 1937 regarding the financial support of the university by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ. Much of the correspondence written by college presidents Lewis D. Bonebrake and I.J. Good and members of the fundraising campaign committee to members of the United Brethren church concerning fundraising, summer bible school for pastors, district chruch conferences, and information about the university itself. There is also a copy of the January 17, 1937 issuse of The Watchword (vol. 44, no. 3), a Christian periodical, which includes an article by I.J. Good entitled, "Life at Indiana Central College, Indianapolis, Indiana" (p. 8-9).


  • 1912-1937


Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Administrative History

Founded in 1902, Indiana Central University opened in 1905 in the University Heights neighborhood in Indianapolis, Indianapolis as a private college of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ. Unusual in its day, the college was coeducational and accepted students of all races. Initially, the institution offered bachelor of arts and master of arts degrees, as well as high school diplomas, and had eight educational departments: the College of Liberal Arts, Teachers’ College, Conservatory of Music, School of Oratory, School of Commerce, Bible Institute, School of Arts, and the Academy, in which students completed their preparatory work and earned high school diplomas. By 1927, the academy was discontinued and most of the other departments were absorbed into the College of Liberal Arts. The North Central Association of Schools and Colleges accredited the university in March of 1947. In 1986, the college was renamed the University of Indianapolis.

The University of Indianapolis has had nine presidents to date: J. T. Roberts (1905–1908), L. D. Bonebrake (1909–1915), I. J. Good (1915–1944), I. Lynd Esch (1945–1970), Gene E. Sease (1970–1988), G. Benjamin Lantz, Jr. (1988–1998), Jerry M. Israel (1998–2005), Beverley J. Pitts (2005–2012) and Robert L. Manuel (2012-present).

H. H. Fout was the bishop of the Northwest District in 1914.


Items in the collection.

University of Indianapolis. "UIndy's History & Mission." About UIndy. Accessed August 13, 2015.


0.01 Cubic Feet (1 folder)

Language of Materials



This collection is arranged chronologically.

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.


No further additions are expected.

Processing Information

Collection processing completed 2015/04/02 by Nikki Stoddard Schofield. EAD finding aid created2015/04/02 by Nikki Stoddard Schofield. EAD finding aid revised 2015/08/13 by Brittany Kropf.
Indiana Central University collection
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.