Skip to main content

Indiana Territory laws collection

 Collection — Folder: OBC037
Identifier: OBC037

Scope and Contents

This collection contains a copy of "Laws Passed at the First Session of the General Assembly of the Indiana Territory" from 1805.


  • 1805

Conditions Governing Access

This collection is open for research.

Conditions Governing Use

Legal title, copyright, and literary rights reside with Rare Books and Manuscripts, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis, IN. All requests to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted to Rare Books and Manuscripts.

Historical Note

"In 1800, the Northwest Territory was divided up into two territories, the eastern region called the Ohio Territory and the western region called the Indiana Territory. Vincennes became the Territorial Capitol until 1813 when it was moved to Corydon."

Excerpt from: Indiana Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology. "Territorial Capitol of Former Indiana Territory." Discover Indiana, January 9, 2018. Updated April 2, 2019. Accessed October 18, 2021.


0.06 Cubic Feet (1 large oversize folder)

Language of Materials



This collection consists of one item.

Custodial History

This collection was received by Rare Books and Manuscripts as a donation.


No further additions are expected.

Processing Information

Collection processing completed 2021/10/18 by Lauren Patton. EAD finding aid created 2021/10/18 by Lauren Patton.
Indiana Territory laws collection
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Repository

140 North Senate Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 U.S.A.